jump to navigation

“Anything worth… December 1, 2012

Posted by marthasway in Musings, Primary food, Somewhat amusing.
trackback

“Anything worth doing is worth doing badly”–G. K. Chesterton

I have thought of that quote throughout the day as I spent more than a few frustrating hours RTFM-ing.  The WordPress.com tutorials are excellent, I am sure, for those who are patient and compliant enough to read and follow directions, but for me, with a bit of a problem in the concentration department, I have made more mis-steps than progress. 

So when I checked for a citation on the Chesterton quote, I should not have been surprised to find a magazine article by Cami Ostman, M.S, in Psychology Today about exchanging perfectionism for joy.  One of my own personal favorites of fruits of the Spirit, joy keeps life juicy, keeps everything lubricated when lugubrious is running close behind.  Parkinson’s keeps me from running anywhere, not that I ever would, but I have given myself permission to get this going marthasway, one step at a time.

My dearest high school teacher, Sidney Whitefield, who provided me with sanctuary for three awkward, redemptive years, often said that I was one of the most creative people she knew.  I had the gift of making every mistake there was, but also the wisdom to learn from each solution. I have lost big chunks of text, explication, and maybe even an amusing anecdote or two these past two days, but I hope that I have learned enough that marthasway will be a good thing.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

